FASHION

RED CARPET FASHION : EMMY AWARDS 2012

Get ready people!  This post might be a little long, but it sure will be fun!

So you might already know, but last sunday was a special night.  We had the pleasure to watch the Emmy Awards.  We’re still far away from awards season, but I just love to see red carpet fashion.  I’ll be dreaming about the beautiful gowns we’ll get to see at the oscars.  Until then, we can dream about having one of the beautiful dresses we saw two nights ago.  Which gown would you want in your closet?  Who was best dressed?  I don’t know your answer and I sure want to hear about it.  So let’s chat about it (comment section might be useful for that!).

As for me, I won’t simply state the best and worst dressed of the night – that would be boring – I’ll go through my favorite dresses of the night from every color palette.  I don’t want to be ordinary and you don’t want to go over the same kind of reviews you saw all over the Internet.  That being said, we’ll do it PANTONE style.

First ones up are the blues.  From left to right.

Hayden Panettiere wearing Marchesa. Like the draping, but not too found of the gold.  I would of prefer a lighter shade of blue.
Jane Levy wearing Pamella Roland. I like the color. It’s a bold cobalt. And I like the shape of the dress. It feels right onto her body.
Edie Falco wearing Stella McCartney. I like this color blocking kind of dress. The shape of the navy is drawing the shape of her body. I’m not too found of the neckline.
Maria Menounos wearing Oliver Tolentiono. I like the neckline and the open leg, but I don’t think the waistband should of been that large.

And the Emmy goes to… Jane Levy!

Now let’s see the turquoise.  From left to right.

Sofia Vergara wearing Zuhair Murad.  It might be a bit too sparkly for me, but I like the mermaid silhouette.
Heidi Klum wearing Alexandre Vauthier. I love how the dress moves and seems to be flying around her. The color is beautiful.
Julianne Hough wearing Georges Hobeika Couture. I like the mermaid silhouette again and the detail in the bottom of the dress is nice. I find the color a bit pale though.
Julianna Margulies wearing Giambattista Valli Couture. I like the pattern, but I’m not sure about the overall look.

And the Emmy goes to… Heidi Klum!

Ready for round three.  From left to right.

Kerry Washington wearing Vivienne Westwood.  I just don’t like that dress a lot.  No particular reasons, I just don’t feel it.
Morenna Baccarin wearing Tony Ward Couture. I like the neckline. It’s original and I like the details of the dress.
Emily VanCamp wearing J.Mendel. Her dress is simply nice, nothing more, nothing less.
Kate Marra wearing Badgley Mischka. I love the straight line of the dress and its luxurious baroque feel.

And the Emmy goes to… Kate Marra!

Let’s see what they have to offer.  From left to right.

Zooey Deschanel wearing Reem Acra.  I like the neckline and the color.  I’m not a princess type of dress, but I do think that Zooey looks gorgeous.
Sarah Hyland wearing Notte by Marchesa. I like the subtle drapping/wrapping kind of thing.
Amanda Peet wearing Calvin Klein Collection. It’s very nude and simple. She disappers within her dress.
Kristen Wiig wearing Balanciaga. I just don’t like the lenght of the dress. Not Emmy appropriate for me.

And the Emmy goes to… Zooey Deschanel!

We’re seeing red, aren’t we?!  From left to right.

Padma Lakshmi wearing Monique Lhuillier.  Too prom style for me.  Very prom style or is it just me?
Kat Dennings wearing J.Mendel. I love the neckline, it’s beautiful and I like her overall look.
Ginnifer Goodwin wearing Monique Lhuillier. Who would of thought it was from the same designer as Padma’s dress? Not me. I love te pattern and the details.
Jena Malone wearing J.Mendel. Like the leg openning, but not sure about the neckline.

And the Emmy goes to… Ginnifer Goodwin!

Let’s go for round six.  From left to right.

Ashley Judd wearing Carolina Herrera.  Again, way to prom-ish for me and it kind of look weird.
Tina Fey wearing Vivienne Westwood. I love the embellishment on the neckline.
Kelly Osbourne wearing Zac Posen. I’m not sure if I like the fact that she matched her hair and her dress, but I like the one shoulder look.
Mayim Bialik wearing Pamella Roland. I like the long sleeves. It’s original. I also love how the dress flows around her, it has movement.

And the Emmy goes to… Mayim Bialik!

Now let me put my shades on!  From left to right.

Julie Bowen wearing Monique Lhuillier.  And again I’m not found of that prom looking dress.
Julianne More wearing Dior. It’s simple, A-line and long sleeves – I like that!
Claire Danes wearing Lanvin.  And I just love this baggy dress with a tiny emphasis on the waist.
Leslie Mann wearing Naeem Khan. I love the division of the dress and that crochet detail.

And the Emmy goes to… Leslie Mann!

Last but not least, the black team.  From left to right.

Amy Poehler wearing Stella McCartney.  I think that the V is a bit too deep in this case.
Martha Plimpton wearing Christian Siriano. Te detail in the lace is interesting.
Jane Krakowski wearing Kaufman Franco. I like the overall look of this sparkly dress.
Melissa McCarthy wearing Daniella Pearl. I love the empire waist, the details and the pattern.

And the Emmy goes to… Melissa McCarthy!

So that’s it for my review of this year’s red carpet fashion.  Emmys only, you know I’ll be back when awards season is on.

5 thoughts on “RED CARPET FASHION : EMMY AWARDS 2012

  1. I love the idea of sorting by Pantone! I didn’t realize there were so many yellow gowns. So many of these posts look the same, nice to see a fresh take! 🙂

Leave a message, I will get back to you!

